The Heart of Christmas (The Movie)

Hello my readers! Happy Boxing Day (Day after Christmas, which I hope you all enjoyed).

Have any of you watched a movie that came out about 5 years ago called The Heart of Christmas? It is a 100% true story about Julie and Austin Locke and their son Dax who was diagnosed with Leukemia when he was still a baby and spent 18 months at St. Jude’s hospital getting treatment and other forms of care. He was born in 2007 and barely made it through Christmas and barely made it to New Year’s Eve in 2009.

The story moved me so much when I was watching it (just finished watching it), I looked up his name and found a foundation site in his name/honor and donated what I could give right now. If anybody at all is interested, here is the site address:
The objective here with this foundation is to raise money for the kids currently being treated at St. Jude’s and for any child who will need to be in the future, since it is what I believe will be a permanent foundation in this little boy Dax’s honor. I know many of you are struggling financially like I am, but even a dollar would help! And you can do a 1 time donation then just go back when you can afford another dollar or more. No one has to donate, but I hope at least some of you will! And watch “The Heart of Christmas” on Netflix, or rent it if you do not have Netflix. Well okay I spoke my peace. I know many of you have loving and open hearts and that is why I am posting about this. At least that is what I understand it to be for. You can read more about it on the web site I gave the link to. Also, if you haven’t yet watched the movie, I suggest it because it is inspiring to see so many moms watching their children struggle with cancer and still having so much faith, hope, and joy and the way they all band together to support and love one another through the ups and downs. 
It kind of makes me feel guilty for my struggles with my own faith in the Lord when these families featured in the movie (especially the Locke family and the 2 mothers and their daughters that Julie Locke connected with while at St. Jud’s) had endured far more pain than me, watching the life of their beloved little ones fading slowly from their eyes and false hope that later led to greater pain when their child died (well one of them did before Dax did, I do not know about the other child). I struggle with depression, anxiety, asthma and allergies that are bad and induce the asthma problems and chronic aches and pains probably from the depression. But I cannot help but wonder if I had the amount of faith these women did even when things looked bad for their children’s health/life, if most or all of my health problems would disappear and I could be healthy and whole (in Jesus). Fear is what I am pretty sure has been the root cause of my depression and anxiety, but I daily study my Bible and when I am not super sick I go to church on Sundays. I missed 3 weeks in a row due first to bad headaches from the depression, anxiety, and a messed up sleeping schedule and then the last 2 Sundays because of a bad cough from either the flu or some awful virus one of my nephews got from a sick kid in his pre-school. He then gave it to his twin brother (my other nephew), their mommy (my sister), their nanny, and me and got better for a while. Then he (the original nephew who got sick) drank from my water when I told him not to because I was sick and he’s been coughing and sniffling again. So I think my brother-in-law and my visiting father (visiting from Vegas) are the only 2 not sick (and hopefully it stays that way since my sister and nephews need to be cared for in their sickness). I do not feel confident about posting any more about this right now because people who do not suffer from depression or anxiety do not seem to understand or even want to try to understand what it is like to be me with all my daily struggles. What I will say is, I pray to God, in the name of Jesus, for Him to take my mustard-seed faith and use it to help me overcome all of the sickness and struggles and to overcome all my trials and tribulations with my small mustard-seed faith and come out the other side healthier and stronger and a shining example for others who need a shining example of the Lord in their lives to help them.
God bless the whole entire Locke family for how deeply they moved me, and so many other people too. And God bless everyone taking the time to read this! If any of you have even a dollar ($1) to spare to Dax’s foundation, I hope you will consider donating! Every dollar counts! Goodnight and once again, God bless you all!
Remember, It is more blessed to give than to receive.Acts 20:35
P.S. If there is anybody here who needs prayers, I am a prayer warrior and I have seen my prayers for others be answered in the most amazing ways!!!!!! I love you all and so does Jesus, and We are here for you! Amen!

Leave a comment