Truth and Honesty

Truth and Honesty

 It is written in Scripture in John 8:31-32, “Jesus said, ‘If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.’

Proverbs 12:19 warns us against lying because lies are exposed, but the truth stands the test of time.

There are other places in the Bible that tell us we are not to lie but to tell the truth/be honest with one another. So why is it that there are people who get mad when someone honest with them? Whether or not one believes in God or Jesus (and you are making a mistake if you do not believe the Truth), they ought to value honesty from others and be honest as well. I will always opt to be honest, because the truth will always be revealed eventually. I am just one who believes that it is best to be honest up front instead of someone finding out the truth later on. That does not make me a bad person, but it means I have morals and values that I stand by. To be angry with me because of my values and beliefs is unfair because I am up front about these things from the beginning. I am not in the habit of hiding who I am from others. I am nowhere near perfect, I make mistakes like everyone else, but I work hard daily to be a better person/daughter of God and follower of His Son Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior.

If more people in this world would not only accept the truth from others, but accept God’s truth both in Scripture, and spoken by believers and followers of Christ within the context with which the Scripture was written (with its intended meaning), then there would be no lies or cheating, and lots of other problems would be solved if everybody lived life the way God tells us to in His written Word, the Holy Bible. If we lived how we are supposed to there would be less relationships ending, no problems with poverty, homelessness, or hunger, no more wars – and many other of this world’s problems, along with people’s individual or group problems, would all cease to exist. We would live in peace, harmony, love, and filled with joy always, if we all lived the way Jesus instructs us to. It is the Truth, and acceptance of it and living out the truth in one’s life, the person who does this into a soul-saving relationship with Jesus and one person at a time, could make a positive difference in this fallen world.

I also show concern for those I care about, so do not mistake that for judgment because only Jesus has the right to judge. I guess what they say is right… those who are honest do not have many friends, but they will have the right ones, because true friends can handle honesty and are always honest too. And true friends show concern when someone they care about does something potentially harmful to them either in this life, or in where they end up spending eternity, or both. Jesus tells us in Matthew 28:19-20 to go make disciples and to teach them to obey the commands He gave us. That is what I try to do. I will not be disobedient to God just to please another person, or to prevent them from being offended by God’s truth, which is the Truth. I will. however, keep praying and whenever I can, I will keep trying, to make certain those I care about believe and accept the truth, enter a soul-saving relationship with Jesus, and take up their cross daily to keep their salvation by doing things the way God tells us to instead of doing what we want to do, when it goes against God’s will.

 

Leave a Reply

