Hating the Sin, Loving the Sinner (Person)

I feel a need to address a rather touchy subject that not everyone will agree with me on but that is their own right. I don’t agree with some other people either on this subject. I would like to quickly address homosexuality and my thoughts on it. I know that in the Bible it clearly lists it as a sin against God, but that is not my issue. My issue is that it also says in the Bible not to judge others and to leave judgment up to God. If you know someone who is in a same-gender relationship with someone else, and you are concerned for their soul then OK, gently inform them of the truth and see if they are responsive at all to it. If they are responsive, kudos to you for saving them. However, if they choose not to listen, as a child of God you must love them anyway. Hate their sin, but don’t hate the person. God hates the sins people commits, never the person themselves so as children of God we must do the same and let them know that although we are sad that we probably won’t see them after they have died (or after we have died, depending who dies first), that we still love them anyway. It is okay if you decide to love them from a distance if you fear getting caught up in their sins, but don’t show hate, annoyance, or contempt for them, and do not judge them. We all commit different sins so none of us is better than another sinner. Once you have tried giving them a godly warning, let it go realizing that on Judgment Day, they will have to answer for the way they lived their life. You too, will need to answer to Jesus about how you lived your life so focus on that and lead a life pleasing to God. It would be nice if we could save everyone we care about, but I have learned the hard way that it is just not going to happen. Some day we may all be pleasantly surprised when someone we thought was a “lost cause” suddenly turns to Christ because of something we said to them one day or because of something we did (in love and kindness) that made them want to know God. If that happens then we can rejoice with God. If it does not happen, try to have peace knowing you did your best to bring them to God which is all we are held accountable for doing. Once we have issued a warning to any sinner for any sin they have committed, it is up to that person whether they listen and change their ways or continue doing what they want to do. Also, you have no idea what the person has been through who is committing whatever sin you are warning them against committing in the future, so you have no clue why they do what they do. This is not to excuse or condone any sins being committed, but it also means we have no right to judge them since we have no idea where that person has been (not just physically but mentally, emotionally, and spiritually).

To sum up what I am trying to get across here is that you should not judge others or hate them because they sin, but hate the sin. Let us all (especially true children of God) show genuine love for one another, including people we feel are our enemies (Jesus tells us in Matthew 5:44 to love your enemies. I am not saying that someone who commits sins is an enemy, what I am saying is that if you consider a person an enemy for any reason (hopefully it is a godly reason, and make sure it is), that you need to show love for them anyway and pray for them. Matthew 7:1-2 talks about not judging others.The Apostle James tells us in James 2:10 that if we are guilty of breaking 1 law, we are guilty of breaking them all. So let us focus on our own conduct (Galatians 6:4) and be careful not to willfully sin against God and be faithful to confess our sins to God when we do sin. I am not for sin or against people. I hate the sin and love the person because that is the right thing to do. I hope that nobody misunderstands me or takes what I said out of context. I am exercising my godly opinion about loving everyone and not just certain people who follow all of God’s decrees 100% of the time because such a person does not exist, except for Christ. It is noble to want to be more like Christ and I myself strive to be more like him every day which is one reason I felt compelled to put in my two cents about what has been going on in the world about gay rights and how that affects the Christian world. To make things crystal clear, I am a child of God and I do my best to follow his ways and be more like him daily in thoughts, speech, behavior, attitudes, and action. However, I know I am not perfect and unintentionally sin against God and when I do, I confess my sins to him and ask forgiveness and work hard not to repeat the sins over again. It does not always happen right away but I am a work in progress.  May God bless all who read this, in Jesus’ name!

Leave a Reply

