The Source of All Comfort (God)

Alexis Malek

December 3, 2013

The Source of All Comfort (God)

Some passages to turn to when you are mourning the loss of a loved one are listed below…I am trying to let these passages bring my comfort right now since my Nana (grandmother) just passed away today and my Grandy (grandfather) passed away 12 days ago and his funeral was today. Nana did not want to be apart from Grandy, now that is true love! And they are both reunited with my mom since she passed away over 7 years and 5 months ago on June 28, 2006. Memories of how I felt during that time have been assaulting me and it is nice to know that God cares when we are in pain whether it be physical or emotional (or spiritual  or mental or any combo of the above). It is wonderful to know God is close-by and wants to wipe the tears from our eyes and heal and comfort us. Why does God take away our loved ones? In the case of my mom, Nana, and Grandy I firmly believe it was to end their suffering and pain, and for my mom also to protect her from the evil in this world (maybe). It is usually to end suffering and pain, to protect them from evil (Isaiah 57:1), or because he needs them with him. Even though we don’t always understand why God lets people godly people (and good people/children not old enough to understand about God yet) die so young, we must not get angry with him like I did after my mom passed away. We must trust God had a good reason and that he will give us beauty for our ashes (Isaiah 61:2-3 which is one of the verses found below). To any of you reading this who have recently lost a loved one or miss a loved one you have ever lost at any point in your life, may God and these verses from his written word below bring you comfort and peace, healing and strength, and everything else you stand in need of. May God turn your mourning into a time for joy. Know they are in a better place, with Jesus and the angels, and that someday you will be reunited with them. I am trying to remember that since England is far away from Northern California and I am crushed that I may not make it to my Nana’s funeral. I missed my grandfather’s funeral which was today and only a miracle of God can bring me to England which I want so I can say goodbye to my Nana in a way that also lets me be with my relatives in England during this time and do whatever God might want me to do (such as talk about God to my family in England) while I am there. God is in the business of miracles and it is possible, but only if God is willing. May all of you who mourn a loved one’s passing feel God’s love, peace, and comfort. Now would be the time to lean on God and on his comfort instead of turning away in anger, shock, and pain because when these feelings have passed you may find it hard to turn back to God again later. Therefore, let God bring you peace and comfort and know that he cares about your pain and suffering. God is the source of all comfort and he comforts us so we will in turn comfort someone else in their time of need when they need comforting and then we will know how to comfort them because of how God comforted us.

Some comforting verses to let us know God is here and cares when we mourn:

Matthew 5:4, “God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.”

Psalm 34:18, “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.”

Psalms 147:3 “He heals the brokenhearted and bandages their wounds.”

Isaiah 57:2, “For those who follow godly paths will rest in peace when they die.”

Isaiah 57:18-19, “I will comfort those who mourn, bringing words of praise to their lips. May they have abundant peace, both near and far,” says the Lord, who heals them.”

Isaiah 61:2-3, “He has sent me to tell those who mourn that the time of the Lord’s favor has come, and with it, the day of God’s anger against their enemies. To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the Lord has planted for his own glory.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4, “All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.

Leave a Reply

