Grateful Heart and Thankful Attitude

Alexis Malek

September 8, 2013

Grateful Heart and Thankful Attitude

 After reading a blog post about gratitude from someone who had stopped by my blog page, I have been feeling inspired to share this excerpt from my book about a grateful heart and thankful attitude and I may expand upon it too. The part in quotes is from my inspirational book.

“It is important throughout the day and every night before bed to thank God for all He has given you and all He has done for you. When you are praising Him for all His good deeds it is impossible to complain or feel stress because you are reminding yourself of all God has done for you and all you have when you are praising Him. It is also important to thank God in advance as if He has already done what He has promised you He would do. For example, God promised me financial abundance, full restoration of health, and mended relationships with certain people and I am believing God to honor these promises so every day and night I thank God for the stuff He has already done for me and the things He has already given to me and then I thank Him for my health being restored and I thank Him for financial abundance and mended relationships as if God has already brought these promises to pass, showing Him I have faith He will bring those promises to pass. There is always something to be thankful for. Thank God for the stable roof over your head and the bed you have to sleep in. Thank God that you are alive and still breathing. Thank God for all the beauty He has created that you enjoy watching or seeing. Thank God for the amazing people in your life, and when you are ready, thank God for the difficult people in your life because of the lessons they teach you such as being kind even when it is hard to do and patience. Did you make it to work on time? Thank God for that and for blessing you with the job you made it on time too. Are you not yet employed or between jobs? This will be tougher but thank God in faith for the amazing job He has in store for you. What I am getting at is, no matter how tough your situation is, there is always something to be thankful for and when you thank God for what you have and especially when you go a step further and thank Him in faith for things you need and prayed for but do not yet have, that moves God to go to work on your behalf.”

I was given an amazing idea and I may add it to my book under the section I quoted above, not sure yet! I don’t know why I didn’t think of this myself, but it could help to not just tell God you are thankful in your head and out loud (by yourself), but you could keep a journal too! You could keep a daily journal listing at least 1 thing you are thankful for and if you are thankful for more than one thing on any given day, write down everything you are grateful for! The idea is, if you can find at least 1 thing to be thankful for then you can focus on that instead of on your problems. Focusing on what God has given you will help you change your mindset to grateful for what you have instead of worried about things you need but do not have and you will realize that God will supply all of your needs in the right time since he has already done so in the past (the 1 thing or more than 1 thing you are grateful for). Thank you to the person who inspired me to do this for myself (have a gratitude journal and write in it daily) and for inspiring me to share my own thoughts on this from my book along with my current thoughts formed after reading your blog. I hope you do not mind I am doing this. To all the rest of my readers, what is at least 1 thing you can think of to be thankful for? Is it possible you can even think of more than one thing?

At the beginning you can start with thanking God for the blessings you are aware of receiving (like the ability to breathe, the food you have to eat, the roof you have over your head, the clothes you have to wear, having all of your organs and body parts and that they function, and so on). This will make you aware of all that God has done for you and continues to do for you. Then you can thank God for things you are believing for him to do for you as if he already did it (and take action  steps in faith to help make whatever you are believing for to happen). There will come a time when you will be able to thank God for your trials and tough situations because it gives you a chance to grow spiritually and to learn. When you grow and learn, that too is something to be thankful for. You can keep growing in your faith until you are standing firm in it and nothing can shake it and you have learned to be content with whatever you have instead of worrying about what you don’t have. This is a great goal to work towards and gratitude for the hard times as well as for God’s blessings are a great way to help achieve this goal! I work towards this goal myself and will be starting a gratitude journal. What is one thing you are thankful for today? Peace be with you all!

Leave a Reply

